Serve up that Shepard’s Pie

Recently I’ve been cooking a lot of things that I love to eat, but have never made.

WELL one of those things is shepards pie. I have always loved it but wasn’t sure how it would go over around here. Especially with one who hates veggies and another who hates meat. The meat hater… still hated it, but that is only one vote out of 5. (My mother in law is currently staying with us until she finds a place she loves!) Other than Penny… EVERYONE LOVED IT! The best part was it wasn’t hard to make at all!!! I doubled the recipe I found which was from allrecipes.com and was called Shepards Pie VI. As usual I also added a ton more seasoning because I LOVE seasoning.

20121221-221428.jpgFirst I got all my stuff together. My old but loved cutting board, can opener, knife, peeler.

20121221-221437.jpg I like using mild cheddar by Kraft. My absolute favorite! A little of this goes in the mash (1/4 cup) while I put another 1/4 cup on top of the mash once they were spread out over the meat mixture!

20121221-221446.jpg I peeled, cubed, and boiled around 8 potatoes for about 10 minutes before hand mashing them!

20121221-221502.jpg What you see here is the meat and vegetable mixture. I browned the 2 lbs of ground beef with a whole bunch of seasonings. I used everything from meat magic, emeril’s italian seasoning, garlic, minced onions, ginger, basil, and parsley. I also added a little salt and 1 1/2 cup beef broth once it was all browned and drained. While I could have used fresh veggies it was way easier for this mama to buy a premade canned mixture. I used 1 1/2 cans of a mixture of limas, peas, carrots, corn, and green beans. While the veggie hater cried “too many veggies!”, I loved how many there were. ( I should mention the recipe called to layer the veggies on top of the browned ground beef, but I could help but mix them all!)

20121221-221512.jpg To mash the potatoes I added butter and heavy cream while mashing until I got the texture I wanted. I also added cheese which I mentioned before 😉

20121221-221521.jpg Yummy creamy mashed potatoes.

20121221-221533.jpg The pre cooked pie! It looked amazing just like this, but it needed to go in the oven at 350 degrees for another 8-10 minutes as the recipe called for!

20121221-221544.jpg THE FINAL PRODUCT! mmmmm. I ended up leaving it in the oven for an extra 15 minutes probably because I double the recipe on my own to achieve that golden color on the potatoes, but man oh man was it delicious. We ate half a 4QT glass pan full the night I made it!

Needless to say this was a great hit and we will be making it again!!!

DO YOU HAVE ANY RECIPES THAT YOU ABSOLUTELY LOVE THAT ALSO HAVE A 30 MINUTE OR LESS PREP TIME?! SHARE WITH US !

Comment

